My Personal Mission Statement… a very personal mission

PART ONE

A huge part of my core values is to not feel like I have to BS to anyone anywhere… but I just did by holding back and censoring myself.  Buuuut I realize that there is a certain rhetoric that may work in one environment and not another.  What I’m saying is that I feel confident when I feel like I can be real and honest yet still maintain a certain level of professionalism in the work place. I also believe in being adventurous and taking risks in order to find creativity and inspiration.  I feel like being slightly mischievous can open a lot of doors but my biggest lesson in life is to draw the line between mischief and recklessness.  Not that I would be the instigator of any mischief in the work place but it’s this kind of consideration that’s important when making good decisions and pitching great ideas that is productive for the whole of company, not to just a few or yourself.

I want to be known for being able to offer several abilities  and skills while offering creative opinion.  I want to be proficient, not just efficient in different computer programs such as final cut and indesign, social media and press strategies as well as styling and set design experience.  I understand that in this economy, you have to be kind of a renaissance man or woman to be attractive to employers and keep a job as companies down size.  This is why I don’t want to stop learning new skills even after I graduate.

I have short term priorities and long term priorities.  I want to do anything and everything I can to build the best resume I can before I graduate in May.  My goal is to move to New York by next year and start working within six months or less.  To do this I know that I have to get the most experience I can in order to compete and succeed in one of the most competitive cities in the world.

I have the highly valued ability to compartmentalize different parts of my life.  I can easily manage and maintain several tasks that are given to me which is an advantage when conducting social media and shoots.  I can also visualize the next step in what I need to do and finish in a timely manner.  I’m always thinking ahead and have a passion for seeing creativity and inspiration from all kinds of sources.

I’m obligated to myself to succeed but also the final product and goal of what I’m doing.A good delivery is crucial to employers and clients.

My overall purpose is elevate and challenge myself in order to be productive in my personal life and work life.  I want to be useful for different needs and situations because it makes me feel like a billion dollars when I’ve accomplished something that I can be proud of.

I strive to be motivated and inspired in everything I do, which shouldn’t be mutually exclusive.  When I’m working I want to be excited about what my company is doing and what my co-workers are striving for.

I’m committed to working diligently and creatively in an environment that fosters ideals that are important to me as well as the company.  When i was interning at Vice magazine I felt like I actually wanted to be there every day for the first time in life.  They had so many things going on and everybody from different departments could bounce ideas off from each other.

I really hope that after I graduate I can offer myself to any industry, whether it be film, press or social media.  Most of all I feel like I can learn quickly on the job and I hope that my employers see that potential in me.  I can expand off other people’s ideas and find inspiration and solutions in almost anything.  I am extremely resourceful, which is so valuable in this economy.

Leave a Reply

